A Little Brit Healthy – Spin Class

Where to start….oh yeah…OUCH! If you take a spin class, be prepared to have a sore bum for almost a week afterwards. Or maybe invest in some of those padded shorts (big butts are in now anyway right?).

So I went to the gym with a friend to attempt a Body Pump class. Little did we know the main studio where classes take place had been flooded so the only class open to us was a spin class – something I swore I would never do since I have zero balance and not the best track record of staying on a bike.

The lady running the class was very nice and forgiving of my stupidity. Since we were there early she took the time to ‘fit me’ to the bike properly and talk me through some of the basics.

I was obviously unprepared for this class, given that we went there to do body pump, but I will share with you what I learned and what I will do next time** I take a spin class. Firstly, you will need a towel! I don’t sweat very much (mainly because I don’t work very hard) but I definitely feel like I could have benefited from having a towel. Also, lots and lots of water. Stay hydrated!

There’s a little fiddly knob thing on the bike that is supposed to increase the intensity or the….erm….something (should have listened) but it seemed mine either wasn’t working or I wasn’t doing it correctly (see aforementioned comment about not listening). As a result I spent most of the class working hard to try and look like I knew what I was doing and that the knob thing was working. This was a workout in itself.

It’s an hour long class with some fun tunes but about half an hour in the pain begins. I’ve never been so uncomfortable! Granted I could have worn more sensible underwear but I still don’t think it would make a difference. I don’t know how cyclists do it and I have a new found respect for them after this class.

So all in all I did the whole class (albeit on the easy intensity setting the entire way through) and I was proud of myself for that. If you know me then you know what a wimp I am when it comes to exercise and I think you’ll agree, this was a big step for me! Up until recently I had only been to the gym in my building a few times, mainly to sit on the weights bench and read the latest US weekly or to stand on the treadmill with a glass of wine and some mini eggs and watch a show on cable since I’m too cheap to pay for it myself. Oh and there was the time my bestie and I played ‘Krypton Factor Gym’ (which is a bit like the lava game). How neither us broke a bone or got a concussion I’ll never know.

Onto the next class…..the dreaded BOOT CAMP….

**I’m never taking a spin class again.

Leave a Reply

